War in the Mountains

When facing the terrible hordes of the Enemy, more then simple smithing must be considered in the construction of battle armour. A mighty Elf lord must tower on the battlefield, a pillar of indomitable strength and unwavering conviction in his inevitable victory. He must strike terror into the hearts of his foes, his armour displaying the insignia of those he has thrown down, until each of his enemies believes their fangs, claws and blades will have no impact on such a warrior.


If truth be told, I’m not entirely sure what this outfit is all about. It began when I found this cloak in the Auction House, long since believing without Isengard I would never get my hands on it. Of course, given the cloak’s pattern, I began to think of an outfit befitting the King of the Mountain title. Yet the more pieces I tried, the more it changed into a slightly more belligerent style.


The sienna-hued spikes on the already warlike leggings coupled with the jagged shoulder guards took me away from a regal outfit and more towards the field of battle. Likewise, I settled on the chest piece from the same set as the leggings, and was struck by what seems to be a dragon’s claw on the breastplate – a surprisingly fearsome motif for an Elf. Perhaps then this armour is, as I described, intended to cow this warrior’s enemies with fearsome signs of past victories and foes vanquished. Given the sienna-spikes, and the blues of the shoulders and cloak, I tried to marry this theme with oranges and blues from opposite sides of the spectrum – clashing colours to tie in with the sense of conflict and standing out on the battlefield.

Head: Tarchar (Indigo Dye)
Shoulders: Dwarf-Make Knight’s Shoulder Guards
Chest: Ceremonial Breastplate of the Brazen Call (Indigo Dye)
Gloves: Dwarf-Steel Gauntlets (Indigo Dye)
Leggings: Ceremonial Leggings of the Brazen Call (Indigo Dye)
Shoes: Barrow Warrior’s Boots
Back: Henki-Clog (Orange Dye)

4 thoughts on “War in the Mountains

  1. Oooh, cool use of that cloak. And I’m a big fan of the clashing colors to show both conflict and “I’m an Elf, I’ll CUT you” (there’s no real noun for that).

    • Haha, thank you! It’s funny, putting together and outfit and then suddenly wondering, where on earth would this be appropriate? Imagine turning too quickly with these shoulders. You’d have eyes out all over the place 😛

    • Hello, I’m Candle, the passive-aggressive elf. I love this! It really does give this gentle elf a sharp, battle-edged look. And the cloak is a perfect choice, I really like the red you added in. It adds to the “I’ll cut you” image he has going.

      Two enthusiastic thumbs up. 🙂
      –Ivy

Leave a Reply

