Sentinel of Mirkwood

So here it is! My first post of an actual outfit. Ah! Exciting! It’s not by any means my first outfit for Candle. In fact, this one was designed at level 75. But it was this outfit that gave me the courage to begin blogging, not because I think it’s so extraordinarily awesome (though I do love it!) but because it was so inspired by my trip to Mirkwood. When making new toons I like to give them a little backstory that influences the way I think about them. I’m not a roleplayer, but it’s just something I enjoy doing, and with Candle it really helped encourage the design of new outfits. I was also happy in this outfit to find ways of incorporating the Grey Company cosmetics from the epic questline in a way I haven’t seen before, hopefully reminiscent of an alliance between Elves and Men.


With this outfit, as I travelled through Mirkwood slowly becoming well known to the Malledhrim and protecting strongholds of the Free Peoples while invading the lairs of the Enemy, I imagined the carefree, jovial Candle becoming slightly more hardened. With the experience of the gloomy Mirkwood, I settled on an outfit fit for a Sentinel – albeit one that defends with music and shouting.



I wanted an outfit that looked strong, and captured the murky hues of the wood and of the Malledhrim themselves, but also standing out as a the costume of an exceptional defender. Mirkwood is a really interesting, (and sometimes infuriating), place to take screenshots, what with the dim lighting and endless shadows, but also the sense that at any moment something could be creeping up on you from out of the dark… Constant watchfulness is a must.


Head: Hat of the Concerned Elf (Black Dye)
Shoulders: Fine Grey Company Wrap
Chest: Ancient Inlaid Breastplate (Black Dye)
Gloves: Isengard Prisoner Gloves (Black Dye)
Shoes: Fine Grey Company Boots
Back: Cloak of Unshakable Mettle (Black Dye)

Leave a Reply

